Donate Today


You may donate by check payable to:
Edwin J. Gregson Foundation
PO Box 660039
Arcadia, CA 91066-0039

We are a 501(c3) tax exempt, nonprofit corporation. Tax ID 91-2052076.

We THANK YOU for your support!

Foundation News

Board of Directors

Thoroughbred trainer Jenine Sahadi is President of the Edwin J. Gregson Foundation. She has been head of the Foundation since July, 2001, finds it a highly worthwhile cause, and has been particularly motivated by its role in providing financial help in college for children of stable workers.

Since obtaining her trainer's license in 1993, she has already achieved several significant firsts. She became the first female trainer to win a Breeders' Cup race, with Lit de Justice in the 1996 Sprint. She is the only female trainer to win two Breeders' Cup races, repeating in the Sprint in 1997 with Elmhurst. She became the first female trainer to win the Santa Anita Derby with The Deputy in 2000. She is also the leading female trainer in career earnings.


Daughter of prominent California thoroughbred breeders Fred and Helen Sahadi, she graduated from the University of Southern California with a degree in journalism/communications and worked for seven years in the marketing and publicity departments at Hollywood Park before turning to the backstretch. Jenine retired as a thoroughbred trainer in 2011.

Board of Directors

Grant Recipients 2022

Year 2022 scholarship applications were reviewed by the Edwin J. Gregson Foundation Scholarship Committee on October 31, 2022.

A total of five (5) new scholarship grant applications were approved, for a combined grant total of $23,000. In addition, there were nineteen (19) past recipient applications approved, with grants totaling $164,000. The overall grant total for year 2022: $187,000.

Below are the new scholarship program grant recipients of Year 2022.

Thoroughbred Daily News Features Gregson Foundation:Gregson Foundation Awards Five Scholarships at Annual Meeting

Ana C.
Animal Biology
UC Davis
Juan C.
Physical Therapy & Rehab
Univ Michoacan San Nicolas
Miguel H.
Civil Engineering
CSU Northridge
Kailey V.
CSU Fullerton


Past Grant Recipients